Outdoors | Pasadena Weekly https://www.pasadenaweekly.com Greater Pasadena's Free News and Entertainment Weekly Sat, 24 Feb 2018 22:36:00 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.4 https://i1.wp.com/www.pasadenaweekly.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/cropped-jgpw-512-px-copy.png?fit=32%2C32&ssl=1 Outdoors | Pasadena Weekly https://www.pasadenaweekly.com 32 32 136211528 Learn to recognize and use wild quinoa https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2017/07/06/learn-recognize-use-wild-quinoa/ Thu, 06 Jul 2017 13:00:18 +0000 https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/?p=95767 These days, everyone wants to eat the hip “new” nutritional foods: kale, chia, quinoa and many others that are found in the latest chef’s restaurant where all the beautiful people go.  Quinoa (Chenopodium quinoa) is a seed that has been used for centuries in Mexico and South America, and it’s a great food. The seeds and […]

The post Learn to recognize and use wild quinoa appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
95767
Nettles are some the most underrated — and tastiest — wild greens out there https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2017/05/11/nettles-underrated-tastiest-wild-greens/ Thu, 11 May 2017 13:07:11 +0000 https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/?p=94199 During this time of the year, I often experience an allergic reaction when I’ve been around trees and plants that produce lots of pollen and cottony-fluff, like willows, cottonwoods, oaks and cattail.  I’ve tried numerous remedies over the years to combat the allergy, but all with limited success.  But finally, one of the natural remedies […]

The post Nettles are some the most underrated — and tastiest — wild greens out there appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
94199
Home Grown Solutions https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2016/04/21/home-grown-solutions/ Thu, 21 Apr 2016 00:00:00 +0000 http://pw.rutherstone.net/2016/4/21/home-grown-solutions Huntington landscape designer offers 12 ways to create a more sustainable garden

The post Home Grown Solutions appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
86121
Valley of Life https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2016/03/24/valley-of-life/ Thu, 24 Mar 2016 00:00:00 +0000 http://pw.rutherstone.net/2016/3/24/valley-of-life Time stands still as Death Valley comes alive

The post Valley of Life appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
85661
The World Awaits https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2016/02/11/the-world-awaits/ Thu, 11 Feb 2016 00:00:00 +0000 http://pw.rutherstone.net/2016/2/11/the-world-awaits Passes for seniors and fourth-graders open doors to our National Parks

The post The World Awaits appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
85065
The Real Agenda https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2016/01/07/the-real-agenda/ Wed, 06 Jan 2016 00:00:00 +0000 http://pw.rutherstone.net/2016/1/7/the-real-agenda Why do the Stewards of Public Land want to get rid of the historic Pasadena Archery Range?

The post The Real Agenda appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
84574
The Delicious Loquat https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2015/07/23/the-delicious-loquat/ Wed, 22 Jul 2015 00:00:00 +0000 http://pw.rutherstone.net/2015/7/23/the-delicious-loquat The hearty and ubiquitous urban fruit is good raw and in jams and jellies

The post The Delicious Loquat appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
81929
People are What They Hide https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2015/06/18/people-are-what-they-hide/ Wed, 17 Jun 2015 00:00:00 +0000 http://pw.rutherstone.net/2015/6/18/people-are-what-they-hide What do clothes really say about the humans they cover?

The post People are What They Hide appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
81485
Bitter Relief https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2015/04/16/bitter-relief/ Thu, 16 Apr 2015 00:00:00 +0000 http://pw.rutherstone.net/2015/4/16/bitter-relief Getting to know the medicinal qualities of the ubiquitous horehound plant

The post Bitter Relief appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
80500
The Gift of ‘Europa’ https://www.pasadenaweekly.com/2015/02/26/the-gift-of-europa/ Thu, 26 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0000 http://pw.rutherstone.net/2015/2/26/the-gift-of-europa A friend’s passing prompts thoughts of death and the nature of life

The post The Gift of ‘Europa’ appeared first on Pasadena Weekly.

]]>
79788